The Great Symphonies: Brahms’ First

Loading Events
This event has passed.

Barry Douglas plays Tchaikovsky

Piers Hellawell Wild Flow (BBC Commission)
Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No.3
Brahms Symphony No.1

Rafael Payare Conductor
Barry Douglas Piano

Brahms had felt so intimidated by Schumann’s prediction that he was the man destined to ‘take over the mantle of Beethoven’ that it took him over 20 years to complete his First Symphony; it was referred to as ‘Beethoven’s Tenth’ by the conductor of its première. Neither were wrong: a masterwork of blazing intensity, the listener is taken on an epic journey, from dark openings via heroic struggles through to a triumphant end.

Also, an opportunity for Belfast audiences to hear Belfast-based composer Piers Hellawell’s Wild Flow at its Irish Première, after receiving its World Première by the Ulster Orchestra at the 2016 BBC Proms.

And Barry Douglas concludes his series of Tchaikovsky piano concertos with the Russian’s final composition, Allegro de concert, the one-movement concert piece for piano and orchestra that we now know as Piano Concerto No.3