In order to provide complete functionality, this web site needs your explicit consent to store browser cookies. If you don't allow cookies, you may not be able to use certain features of the web site including but not limited to: log in, buy products, see personalized content, switch between site cultures. It is recommended that you allow all cookies.

BBC Radio 3 Invitation Concert: Bartók, Tchaikovsky

Join us for the fourth event in this year’s series of free BBC Radio 3 Summer Invitation Concerts.

  • Composer 1


  • Composer 2


  • Conductor

    Angus Webster

  • Soloists

    María Dueñas - Violin

View Details

Event Details


18 August 2022 19:45


Ulster Hall - Belfast

Bartók                   Dance Suite
Tchaikovsky         Violin Concerto in D major


Join us for the fourth event in this year’s series of free BBC Radio 3 Summer Invitation Concerts with the Ulster Orchestra.

Three soloists – all winners of international competitions – make their Ulster Hall debut, together with the dynamic young British conductor Angus Webster, and returning favourites Jessica Cottis and Jac Van Steen.

This programme offers exuberance and style in abundance, under the baton of the Australian-British conductor, Jessica Cottis. 

Bartók’s Dance Suite won him his first widespread success as a composer for orchestra: it’s movements varying in character and reaching well beyond Hungarian traditions. 

Tchaikovsky’s only violin concerto follows – a cornerstone of the violin repertory – boasting a blend of lyricism, epic breadth and energy. 

The Spanish violinist María Dueñas is the soloist: a BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artist, and winner of the 2021 Yehudi Menuhin International Violin Competition and the Audience Prize.




Sign Up For Updates