In order to provide complete functionality, this web site needs your explicit consent to store browser cookies. If you don't allow cookies, you may not be able to use certain features of the web site including but not limited to: log in, buy products, see personalized content, switch between site cultures. It is recommended that you allow all cookies.


Chief Conductor Daniele Rustioni’s first concert with the Ulster Orchestra in 2021!

  • Composer 1


  • Composer 2


  • Conductor

    Daniele Rustioni

  • Soloists

    Roman Simović

View Details

Event Details


05 February 2021 19:30


Where You Are! - -


It is with great regret that, due to seriousness of the latest variant of the COVID-19 virus, the pressure on the health services and safety of our staff and musicians, we have decided to pause the Orchestra’s activities for the time being.
The first two concerts in our new digital season are now cancelled and if you require a refund, then visit the 'your account' section on the Waterfront Hall website, select the relevant concert and select ‘request refund’. However, if you are in a position to show your support for the Orchestra by not requesting a refund to help us in these extraordinary times, we would be most grateful; in which case please advise the box office that you are happy to donate the ticket value by completing the Waterfront Hall's ‘contact us’ form by Friday 29 January.
We greatly appreciate your patience and understanding and look forward to getting back to providing wonderful music and experiences for you when it’s safe to do so. Take care and stay safe.

Bruch                                 Violin Concerto No. 1
Brahms                             Symphony No. 4

Chief Conductor Daniele Rustioni’s first concert with the Ulster Orchestra in 2021 is a gorgeously Romantic programme featuring two of the great masterworks of 19th Century classical music.
Described by Classic FM as ‘the world’s most popular violin concerto’ and regularly taking the top spot in its ‘Hall of Fame’, Bruch’s First Violin Concerto is a stunningly beautiful showcase for the violin’s capabilities and its dazzlingly virtuosic passages make the instrument soar and sing. Our soloist is Roman Simović, leader of the London Symphony Orchestra and renowned soloist in his own right.

Simovic's statuesque posture and affable but self-effacing demeanour provided an appropriate stage presence for this most popular of all violin concertos. He expressed Bruch's music with equal measures of sweet lyricism and powerful intensity … The inescapably romantic second movement was beautifully played, with both soloist and orchestra combining to produce a warm and rich texture...(Bachtrack)

Brahms’s Fourth Symphony is melancholic and full of expressive intensity. Rich orchestral colours abound and melody after melody flows right across the orchestra, evolving seamlessly and organically from what came before. The symphony shows Brahms’s skills at their most technically advanced, but for all its complexities it cuts as close to the heart as music can.

This concert will last approximately 60 - 70 minutes and will be available to view on demand for 30 days after the original performance. The concert will be accessible behind a paywall on the Ulster Hall/Belfast Waterfront website via a link in your Box Office booking account. Don’t forget that if you book all 5 concerts, you’ll get your concert programmes for free!



Sign Up For Updates