In order to provide complete functionality, this web site needs your explicit consent to store browser cookies. If you don't allow cookies, you may not be able to use certain features of the web site including but not limited to: log in, buy products, see personalized content, switch between site cultures. It is recommended that you allow all cookies.

Rustioni Conducts Special Opening Concert

It's time to welcome you back to the Ulster Hall - we've missed you!

  • Composer 1


  • Composer 2


  • Composer 3


  • Conductor

    Daniele Rustioni

  • Soloists

    Pablo Ferrández - Cello

View Details

Event Details


24 September 2021 19:45


Ulster Hall - Belfast

PLEASE NOTE: This concert will open for general booking on Saturday 4 September 2021 at 10am.

Farrenc      Overture No.1
Dvořák       Cello Concerto
Brahms      Symphony No. 4

It's wonderful to be back performing live and to open the Season, Chief Conductor Daniele Rustioni leads the Orchestra in a concert that is both moody and magnificent!

Piano teacher extraordinaire, composer, equal pay campaigner... Louise Farrenc was a force of nature to be reckoned with in the musical circles of 19th Century Paris, though her compositions have become unfairly neglected since her death. We are delighted that her dramatic, scurrying Overture No.1 opens our new Season with a bang, before we turn to the heartbreak of Dvořák’s Cello Concerto. Written whilst Dvořák was in the USA and struggling with homesickness, his Cello Concerto is filled with longing for home and deeply personal anguish at the serious illness of his sister-in-law Josefina. Our soloist is rising star, Spanish cellist Pablo Ferrández. Described by the Los Angeles Times as having “Pop-idol magnetism, superb technique and exhilarating musicality…”, this performance is sure to “…reveal a sure star in the making”.

Brahms’s Fourth Symphony is also imbued with melancholy and expressive intensity. Rich orchestral colours abound and melody after melody flows right across the orchestra, evolving seamlessly and organically from what came before.

To download your free concert programme, please click this link!



If you like this, you might also like:

Sign Up For Updates