In order to provide complete functionality, this web site needs your explicit consent to store browser cookies. If you don't allow cookies, you may not be able to use certain features of the web site including but not limited to: log in, buy products, see personalized content, switch between site cultures. It is recommended that you allow all cookies.


The Orchestra offers a second chance to hear it perform in full force in February. 

  • Composer


  • Conductor

    Rafael Payare

  • Soloists

    Guy Braunstein

View Details

Event Details


21 February 2019 20:00


The Market Place Theatre - Armagh

Guy Braunstein Violin

Schumann Overture: Manfred 
Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto
Schumann Symphony No.2

The Orchestra offers a second chance to hear it perform in full force in February. Tchaikovsky composed his Violin Concerto in the aftermath of escaping a disastrous and ill-advised marriage after just nine weeks. The outer movements see sparks of excitement, whilst the Adagio is captivatingly lyrical and full of melancholy. Guy Braunstein explores this work beautifully with the Ulster Orchestra.

“His playing revealed the soul of a poet… Braunstein’s performance of the Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto won many admirers; it eschewed outward glamour but got to the heart of the work.” (Birmingham Post)

Schumann’s Second Symphony is awash with blazing colours and ferocious emotional intensity – a reflection of the fact that Schumann, too, was writing at a time of great personal turmoil.

£17.50 / £15 / £5 (under 18s)



Sign Up For Updates